Bousfield Primary School


Our mission statement is simple. We want our children to be:

  • Successful learners
  • Confident individuals
  • Responsible citizens

We will achieve this by providing a stimulating and exciting curriculum, which is both inclusive and challenging, in order to get the best from every child.

National and EYFS

The National Curriculum lies at the heart of what is taught at Bousfield. It has been in place since September 2014. It sets out a clear, full and statutory entitlement to learning for all children aged five to eleven for all maintained schools in England to follow and determines the content of what will be taught. 

It is preceded by the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum which is taught to children aged three to five (Nursery and Reception) and was recently updated in 2021.

Both curriculums are designed to:

• be broad and balanced

• promote the spiritual, moral, cultural, intellectual and physical development of children

• prepare children for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life.

Our Curriculum

The curriculum at Bousfield is not static and is subject to ongoing development in order to enhance the delivery to our children, and remove potential barriers to learning.

In order to learn successfully, we believe children need:

  • to develop positive self-images through knowing they are valued for themselves
  • to have equality of opportunity to gain full access to the curriculum
  • opportunities to form positive relationships within a stable and secure environment
  • opportunities to express themselves creatively and apply their skills and knowledge
  • access to a range of stimulating activities, trips, workshops and appropriate resources.

Core and Foundation Subjects

The current National Curriculum is divided into Core and Foundation subjects and is taught to children in Key Stage 1 (Y1 - Y2) and Key Stage 2 (Y3 - Y6).

Core subjects

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Religious Education

Foundation subjects

  • History
  • Geography
  • Design and Technology
  • Music and Dance
  • Art
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Computing (ICT - information & communication technology)
  • Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) and citizenship and sex education

Each subject has a programme of study which specified the knowledge, skills and concepts that the children will be expected to acquire as they progress through both primary and secondary school.

There will be times when these subjects are best taught discretely and systematically, and other times when they will be taught in a cross-curricular way enabling the children to develop their knowledge, skills and understanding in a broader sense.

Curriculum Maps and Expectations

The curriculum map sets out the learning topics for the year, as well as key texts and trips which will be used to support learning.

Nursery curriculum overview

Reception curriculum overview

Year 1 curriculum overview

Year 2 curriculum overview

Year 3 curriculum overview

Year 4 curriculum overview

Year 5 curriculum overview

Year 6 curriculum overview


Curriculum - Subject Areas

For further information on the separate subjects, we have categorised our curriculum into four sections:

Core Subjects English (Phonics, Reading, Writing), Maths & Science 

Culture & Communication  History, Geography, Computing, Religious Education (RE) & Spanish  

Physical Education & PSHE  PE and Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education (PSHE)

The Arts Music, Art, Design Technology

Knowledge Organisers

A knowledge organiser is a go-to document for a topic work: each one identifies the key information that children need to have learned by the end of a topic. It also acts as a tool to support children in retaining and retrieving knowledge for life-long learning. These are posted separately on the website. 

Knowledge Organisers (Learning menu tab)